Library Pumpkin

Library pumpkin (noun): a person that flourishes best between bookshelves.

5 childhood bookish facts about me

So, I saw this on several booktube videos as 25 bookish facts about me and thought that would be an excellent post idea for days like this where I have got home from work late and am pretty tired and uninspired.

However, because this turned out to be harder than I thought, and also, not sure if anyone actually wants to trawl through them all, I thought I would narrow it down to just 5 bookish facts about me – but based around childhood memories.

1.I used to take books with me to all family events. Without fail. Going out for dinner, just to visit people, parties. When I turned into a teenager and started taking my ipod instead, family members actively came over to me to ask where my book was.

2. I LOVED Enid Blyton books. I remember – and this was in my first house, so can’t have been more than six, but was probably younger – that my Mum got sick of me re-reading the Magic Faraway Tree for the zillionth time, and she told me to go and read something else. I can clearly remember sitting down, picking out the first Worst Witch book and then getting hooked on those.

3. Ella Enchanted remains one of my favourite books of all time. I have no idea how many times I have read that book. I used to borrow it from my primary school library probably every other week, and when the pages began to fall out, me and my Mum had to tape them back in.

4.Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire came out when I was in year 3. I read it in about 6 or 7 hours I think, and then no one at school believed that I had read it in a day. At first I was annoyed because people didn’t believe that I had read it in a day, then I was annoyed because HELLO I had read it in much less than a day.

5. I have always been a very fast and a very good reader. One of my only memories of my first primary school – which I attended from nursery through to the end of year 2- is going to pick out my reading book for the week from the year 5 &6 bookshelves because I was way past any of the infants books. This was a big deal in itself, because it was in a totally separate wing of the school that I had never been near. I think I picked an Anne Fine book, but that might be a different memory.

Swirl

What are some of your bookish childhood
memories? Were you a big reader as a kid, or
did that come later? What’s your favourite book
from childhood? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 27, 2016 by in Discussion and tagged .
